First impressions of Little Lhasa

I’m here! I feel I almost bypassed India and landed square in Tibet. I caught the risky flight connection thanks to the domestic plane being on “Indian time” and was picked up by a grinning young man who introduced himself as Tenzin and who whisked me away in a taxi up the mountain to the College for Higher Tibetan Studies, a small compound of monks and lay people studying Tibetan and Buddhist thought.

Some first impressions: image

  • Wow, those rhesus monkeys are big.
  • Thunder rolling through the valley up to my open windows makes for an excellent nap.
  • There are a lot of people named Tenzin or Karma. Those will be my first guesses when I forget a name.
  • Are they still playing basketball this late? It sounds like its getting rowdy.

But it wasn’t basketball. One of the most animated things I’ve ever seen is the after dark discourse of the young monks studying here. Out in the large yard were 5 groups of maybe 8 monks each, debating loudly while clapping and chanting and egging each other on. I was told that the standing monks can only ask questions and the seated monks can only answer. They try to catch each other in philosophical missteps. I can’t understand a word, but they are surely having a good time.

I wish I had learned physics this way! I wonder if the classes I teach will be this engaged? It makes me excited and a little bit nervous. Tonight I brought out my telescope to peek at the moon in an effort to stay up until 9pm and get on the right time schedule. Now I’m off to bed! Pictures to come.

Categories: Monks in India | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “First impressions of Little Lhasa

  1. I am looking forward to your pictures, but even more to your experiences. Your are on a magical adventure.

    Like

  2. You are bringing back SO many memories of my first trip to teach the monks! I vividly remember watching the Monks debate for the first time. It took my breath away – there were hundreds of Monks of all ages and abilities debating, shouting, and laughing in the middle of a huge paved outdoor area in front of a stunningly beautiful monastery. I had exactly the same feelings that you expressed – I wished all people could learn like this and I was really worried about how they would react to my ways of teaching. It ended up being amazing. There tradition of questioning and debating makes them such natural inquirers. They are willing to take risks as they don’t allow their egos to get in their way. “Failing” isn’t a negative for them like it is in the west. You will LOVE having them as students.

    Like

  3. Janine

    Ohboyohboy more quick please!

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.